Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21X 50mm Riflescope | Hunting Guide Review

2
109

The Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21x 50mm first focal plane riflescope is a good match for the Savage 10 GRS rifle.

New for 2017, the Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21x 50mm first focal plane riflescope is a good value at a street price of around $1,650. This is a rugged, compact, yet full-featured, riflescope, in keeping with the rest of the Elite Tactical line of riflescopes from Bushnell.

Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21X50mm Riflescope Features

The Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II features a G3 illuminated reticle, ThrowHammer magnification power lever, T-Lok locking windage turret, RevLimiter zero stop, fast-focus eyepiece, side parallax adjustment and a 34mm tube diameter. Ultra-wideband (anti-reflection) coating is custom applied to every lens element in the optical path to allow the best possible light transmission for optimal brightness and true color. Each scope is argon purged for improved water and fog proofing. Rain Guard HD is applied to the outer lens surfaces so that moisture from rain or snow beads up, causing less light to be scattered. This provides a clear, bright view in less-than-optimal conditions. The G3 reticle was designed in conjunction with G.A. Precision. It is illuminated, with 11 intensity settings. There is an off location between every power setting. The horizontal crosshair is marked in .5 mil increments with short vertical lines at the .5 mile intervals and longer vertical lines at the whole-mile intervals.

“Mover marks” are located at 1, 1.25 and 1.5 mil positions to the left and right of center for shooting at moving targets. The vertical crosshair is also marked in .5 mil increments, with short horizontal lines at the .5milel intervals and longer horizontal lines at the whole-mile intervals. From the 2 through 10 mil positions below the horizontal crosshair, the lines increase in 1 mil increments for windage hold-offs.

OPTICS

Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II OpticNo sights are provided with the Savage 10 GRS. However, a 1913 MIL-STD rail, attached to the receiver, is supplied. For testing purposes, I installed a Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21×50 first focal plane riflescope with a G3i reticle, using Weaver Tactical 34mm-diameter, “High” scope rings. This riflescope is an excellent choice for the Savage 10 GRS. Its compact size is in proportion to the rifle, but it has sufficient power at 21x for long-range shots and enough low power at 3.5x for a wide field of view. I like the first focal plane ability to range find at any power.

All the controls have the proper “feel,” with enough friction and detents to feel and count turret rotation. My only criticism is that even with the ThrowHammer power lever, changing the magnify cation requires a bit too much effort.

RANGE TIME

After mounting the Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21×50 riflescope on the Savage 10 GRS, I made my first trip to the range. I broke in the rifle with 25 rounds of various brands of ammunition, cleaning the bore after every five rounds. I also got acclimated to the AccuTrigger, which was every bit as nice as I thought it would be. One three-shot group of Winchester 140-grain Match BTHP measured a respectable .95 inch. My next trip to the range was for accuracy evaluation. I fired three five-shot groups at 100 yards for each of six different factory loads.

The best three-group averages were all shot using 140-grain bullets, and they were extremely consistent. Winchester 140-grain Match BTHP had the best average for three five-shot groups at 0.84 inches. American eagle 140-grain OTM and Hornady 140-grain ELD Match tied for second at 0.92 inches. Hornady 120-grain ELD Match ammunition came in at 1.13 inches for fourth place.

Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II Specification:

Model NameBushnell Elite Tactical DMR II
FinishMatte
Power x Obj. Lens3.5-21x 50
ReticleG3
Lens CoatingFully-Multi-coated & Ultra Wide Band Coating
Rain Guard HDYes
Tube Diameter34mm
Parallax AdjustmentSide
Field of View (ft@100yds/m@100m)25.3/8.4@3.5x/5.1/1.7@21x
Weight (oz/gr)34/920
Length (in/mm)13.2/335
Eye Relief (in/mm)3.74/95
Exit Pupil (mm)10.4@3.5x/2.4@21x
Click Value0.34/10
Adj Range30 mils up/ 20 mils LR
Mounting Length6/154
Focal PlaneFirst

Today’s Price on Amazon

Suffice it to say that the Savage 10 GRS did not care for the Hornady Super Performance 129-grain SST and Federal Fusion 140-grain ammunition, at 2.43 inches and 2.48 inches, respectively.

Lets Watch a vide review.

 

We discussed enough riflescopes on our website. In fact, we actually did reviews on Vortex Diamondback Tactical Riflescope. But this one is different.

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here