Aztec Emerald 5.5-25×50 Scope Review

0
28
The New Aztec Emerald
The New Aztec Emerald

The scope market is a very congested place to be, so you’d be pretty brave to launch a new brand against the industry giants that have the lion’s share of the market, in my opinion. You’d be even braver to make your first model a very specialized long-range job. With that in mind, say hello to Aztec Optics and their Aztec Emerald 5.5-25×50 openers. It ticks all the boxes for the modern air gunner: 30mm body tube, check: 50mm objective, check: exposed oversized adjuster drums, check: fancy reticle? Double check! The box full of accessories: check. Most importantly for a scope that claims to be airgun compatible, parallax adjustment that dials down to 10 yards for close-range ratting and the like.

Aztec Emerald 5.5-25×50 Fit & Finish

The Aztec Emerald 5.5-25×50 fit and finish look good, and although the power adjuster was very tight from the box, it soon loosened up. An oversized side wheel is included that made parallax adjustments easy, light work and the windage and elevation drums turned with a pleasant resistance. I’ ll say now that I dislike exposed adjuster turrets that do not lock, and the simple ‘pull-up to release and push-down to lock’ system on the Aztec work well, so I’d have no concerns about taking it into the field.

The question for me is who is this scope for? In the world of full-bore, high-power rifles, 25x magnification, 30moa of vertical reticle markings and ultra-complicated reticle dots to allow windage and elevation corrections, it makes sense, but for the average air gunner, what does it bring? The best answer I heard to that question was an older man who had found immense pleasure from plinking targets at longer and longer ranges.

Aztec Emerald Trajectory Mapping

Aztec Emerald Reticle
Aztec Emerald Reticle

He’d got into trajectory mapping software and had applied that to his own scope and had used a laser rangefinder to measure the distance to the target With that data, he used scope’s technology to give him very specific aim points on the reticle or a number of clicks on the elevation adjuster. With practice, he was able to hit 40mm knock-down targets out to 65 yards consistently, as long as the wind didn’t blow. On breezy days, he tried to spot the pellet strikes on the target’s face and then ‘walk’ his pellets in. Sure, it might take four or five shots to get the feel for that moment’s wind, but as a retired man, he had all the time he needed to enjoy his new game.

This is a lot of scope for the money and if long-range games are your bag, then it’s well worth a look. To buy one, contact their page and have an email to the nice people there.

Aztec Emerald 5.5-25×50 Specification

ModelAztec Emerald 5.5-25x50
Magnification5.5-25x
Objective50mm
ReticleDYND-1
Tube Diameter30mm
Length14.375 in
Weight25.4 oz
MOA1/4"
Eye Relief3.94-3.54 in
Field of View19.1-4.2 yds @ 100 ft

Aztec Emerald Video Review

N.B: This scope is not available on Amazon, you will get this on eBay or visit Aztec website.

We discussed enough riflescopes in our website before. In fact, we actually did reviews on Vortex Diamondback Tactical 3-9×40 Riflescope & Bushnell Elite Tactical DMR II 3.5-21X 50mm Riflescope before. But this one is different.

You can check more riflescopes from Amazon.


LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here